Some of our clients have brought to our attention, receipt of emails from a Chinese domain registrar which claims to be interested in protecting their domain name and trademark.  This is, of course, a scam. 


=====================================
Subject: China_The Confirmation Of Intellectual Property

Dear Sir/Madam:

Hello!Sorry to trouble you!

We are a domain name registration service company in Shanghai, which mainly deal with international company's domain name registration and disputing in China.

On the August 24, 2009, we received an application formally from Yuancheng(China)Company,who applied for the Internet trademark: "domain" and China domain
names relevant to this trademark from our organization.

According to our procedures and in order to protect your intellectual property rights, we need to send this email to the original company for confirming the actual
relationship with this company.If you do not know this company, we doubt that they have other motivation to register these domain names and probably want to do some cybersquatting.

Now we have postponed this issue and have not proceeded their registration,In order not to confuse registering these domain names,Please contact us Asap.

PS:If you are not in charge of this matter,please transfer this email to appropriate dept.

Best Regards

Joy Zhou:

Auditing Department
-----------------------------------
China Internet Service Provider:
Yiguan(Shanghai) IT Co.,Ltd
693.Yishan Road XuhuiDistrict,Shanghai,China.
Postal Code: 200030
Tel: 0086-021-6296 2950 Fax: 0086-021-6296 1557
Mail: joy@ygdns.org.cn Web: www.ygdns.org.cn
=====================================

It's not really a scam per se, but rather an attempt to scare you into buying the chinese domain equivalents of your domain before this supposed  "competitor" attempts to do so.

I'd call it light cyber-extortion, though it's perfectly legal, if completely unethical.

You can safely ignore this email and there is definitely no need to respond to them, in my opinion.